Bonus Challenge

Hey friends. This week an idea started percolating in my overwhelmed mind- what if I took time away from the whole internet? Would that help me regulate myself?

So guess what? Thats what I’m doing. From Good Friday I’m going to stay off all the internet places that I feel are giving me input overload.

This means no socials. No blogs (not even my own) or substack. No podcasts. No news sites. No articles or websites. No googling stuff unless is an absolute necessity (recipes & clothes are not necessities!!!!).

There are some internet places I can’t avoid because we have all set our lives up to be online, hell, even my bank has gone online only! So I’ll still check my emails but (try) to only read stuff that is essential to our days. I’ll still do my banking & exercise online because they are the only ways I have of doing them. Text, whatsapp & messenger don’t count as online to me as it’s just communication. And since I sold all my CD’s last year music will come from online too.

I guess I just need some quiet. I feed so much information into my head via the internet that I’m unsure what my own thoughts, feelings & opinions even sound like without all that input. So much of my paid job is about communicating too so I feel burnt out by life!

I’ve also noticed how easily swayed I am by stuff I consume online. I feel like my consumerism has increased. I’ve felt myself second guess myself & choices after reading about someone else’s life. But mostly I’ve noticed that so much of what I consume is just filling a gap & has no lasting impact on my life. I read or watch or listen to something only to forget it soon after.

I think I’ve forgotten how to just be with my own thoughts.

So that’s the plan. Have some quiet time. Try & remember what life was like before the internet. Hopefully get my brain to feel less jumpy.

Wish me luck!

Talk soon xx (maybe)

6 thoughts on “Bonus Challenge

  1. LUUUUUCK!
    Having a job that’s full time remote and I’m on my laptop and or phone all day, I don’t know how I would navigate what you’re aiming for – but I really understand it!
    I need to really reign in the online window shopping and a few more than I’m willing to admit, converted carts to sales.
    I’m in a wardrobe/seasonal slump after loosing a chunk of weight and really changing shape. Winter is coming and I don’t want to just get by with what I’ve got, which I was very happy to do over summer? Go figure… lol

    Add in my now cemented in enjoyment and routine, exercising in the dark depths of winter on the coast requires layers and options. One day this week it was 30° and the next was down to 18° at my house. Options! I need options that fit! 😂

    Anyway, I can here to say good luck, I will

    miss you on all the socials but completely understand the need for less noise.
    M x

    Like

    1. I’ll still need to use the internet for my job too but this is more about taking away all the stuff that is extra information, opinions, influence & noise. I just can’t handle it right now.

      I am hearing lots of chatter about changing styles & wardrobes lately. I’ve been culling & trying to figure out my new style, it’s hard! So good luck finding what you need x

      Like

  2. Jody says:

    Hi Reannon, When the bad outweighs the good, then having a complete hiatus from social media makes complete sense. I have become better at filtering out the negative, the uninspiring, the stupid and the stuff that somehow makes me feel less – but that still doesn’t mean it’s all light and love !!! I do enjoy your take on life, your pondering and reflections – and I am so slack at commenting, but wish you luck in blocking out the unnecessary noise and hope that it brings you some peace. x

    Like

    1. It’s not so much that it’s bad more that I just feel like I’m in constant input mode & never in quiet mode anymore. And that goes for the whole internet, I’ve actually managed to get a good handle on my socials but have found them rather boring of late.
      And never apologise for lack of commenting, I know that people are busy & that sometimes WordPress does not make it easy.

      Like

Leave a comment